8 ICC events and 17 nations bidding to host it: International Cricket Council reveals events between 2024 to 2031

After the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced events between 2024 to 2031, as many as 17 member nations have put their names forward to host eight major upcoming tournaments. The ICC is set to conduct two ODI World Cups, four T20 World Cups, and two Champions Trophies in the given time frame.

The countries that have put forth their bid are Pakistan, South Africa, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

Along with the full members, six associate nations - Malaysia, Namibia, Oman, Scotland, the UAE, and the USA - have also put their names forward as potential hosts.

The 10 full ICC members have submitted preliminary technical proposals to host the major events both individually or jointly between 2024-2031.

ICC's acting chief executive, Geoff Allardice, was delighted by the response to host major events. He added that the ICC would decide on the same later this year after members provided a more detailed proposal.

"We are delighted with the response from our members to hosting ICC men's white-ball events post 2023. We will now move forward to the second phase of the process where Members will provide a more detailed proposal before the ICC board takes decisions on our future hosts later this year."

What about India? The cricket-crazy nation is set to host the next 50-over World Cup in 2023. Since 2011, the big three - Australia, England, and India - have hosted the ODI World Cups.

India was also to host the T20 World Cup this year, however, the COVID-19 pandemic has forced to shift the marquee event to the UAE and Oman.

Source : DNA India